Turlock City News

Turlock City News

Governor Appoints Turlocker Randy Fiorini to State’s Delta Stewardship Council

Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger today announced the appointments of Francis Randall “Randy” Fiorini, Philip Isenberg, Henry “Hank” Nordhoff and Richard Roos-Collins to the Delta Stewardship Council.
“The Delta Stewardship Council was established as part of last year’s groundbreaking legislation to reform, restore and rebuild California’s vital water system. This council will work collaboratively to develop a plan to achieve the co-equal goals of restoring the Delta ecosystem and ensuring water supply reliability,” said Governor Schwarzenegger. “Each of these individuals possesses the qualities, experiences and unique perspectives that are necessary to help the council meet these goals and implement the most comprehensive effort in decades to save and restore California’s Delta and secure our water supply for the future.”
Fiorini, 56, of Turlock, has been managing partner of Fiorini Ranch since 1975 and managing partner of FarmCo since 2001. Previously, he was president of Fiorini Family Vineyards from 2002 to 2008 and owner of Farm Data from 1984 to 2000. Fiorini is past president and board member of the Association of California Water Agencies, past board president and director of Turlock Irrigation District Division #5, and past president and board member of the California Farm Water Coalition. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in fruit science from California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo. This position requires Senate confirmation and the compensation is $40,669. Fiorini is a Republican.
Isenberg, 71, of Sacramento, has served as president of Isenberg/O’Haren Government Relations since 2005. From 1977 to 2004, he was counsel for Miller, Owens and Trost, Attorneys at Law. Previously, Isenberg served as a member of the California State Assembly representing the 9th District from 1992 to 1996 and the 10th District from 1982 to 1992. From 1975 to 1982, he was mayor of the city of Sacramento. Isenberg served as chair of the California Marine Life Protection Act Blue Ribbon Task Force from 2004 to 2006 and served as chair of the Delta Vision Blue Ribbon Task Force from 2007 to 2008. He is also a member of the Sacramento Valley Conservancy Advisory Board. Isenberg earned a Juris Doctorate degree from the University of California, Berkeley Boalt Hall School of Law and a Bachelor of Arts degree in social science and government from California State University, Sacramento. This position requires Senate confirmation and the compensation is $40,669. Isenberg is a Democrat.
Nordhoff, 68, of Del Mar, was president and chief executive officer of Gen-Probe Incorporated from 1994 until his retirement in 2009. Currently, he serves as chairman. From 1992 to 1994, Nordhoff served as president and chief executive officer of TargeTech and, from 1988 to 1992, he was president and chief executive officer of American Biogenetic Sciences. From 1986 to 1988, Nordhoff was vice president of mergers and acquisition for Sterling Drug Company and from 1970 to 1986, he worked for Pfizer Inc. in the U.S., Europe and Asia. His last position at Pfizer was director of licensing and business development. Nordhoff earned a Master of Business Administration degree in international business and finance from Columbia University and a Bachelor of Arts degree in international relations and political economy from Johns Hopkins University. Nordhoff served in the U.S. Navy from 1963 to 1967. This position requires Senate confirmation and the compensation is $40,669. Nordhoff is a Republican.
Roos-Collins, 56, of Berkeley, has been director of legal services for the Natural Heritage Institute Since 1991. Previously, he served as deputy attorney general of the public rights division for the California Department of Justice from 1989 to 1991. From 1986 to 1989, Roos-Collins was attorney-advisor for the Office of the General Counsel at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. He is co-chair of the Agricultural Water Management Council and a member of the Bay Delta Conservation Plan Steering Committee. Roos-Collins is also director of the Pacific Forest and Watershed Lands Stewardship Council and founding director of the Hydropower Reform Coalition. He earned a Juris Doctorate degree from Harvard Law School and a Bachelor of Arts degree in English from Princeton University. This position requires Senate confirmation and the compensation is $40,669. Roos-Collins is a Democrat.
The Delta Stewardship Council was created in SBX7 1 by Senator Joe Simitian (D-Palo Alto), which established the framework to achieve the co-equal goals of providing a more reliable water supply to California and restoring and enhancing the Delta ecosystem.
As created in the bill, the Delta Stewardship Council consists of seven members, four appointed by the Governor, one appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate and one appointed by the Speaker of the Assembly. The Chairperson of the Delta Protection Commission is a permanent member of the Council.
The Council is tasked with:
    * Developing a Delta Plan to guide state and local actions in the Delta in a manner that furthers the co-equal goals of Delta restoration and water supply reliability;
    * Developing performance measures for the assessment and tracking of progress and changes to the health of the Delta ecosystem, fisheries, and water supply reliability;
    * Determining if a state or local agency’s project in the Delta is consistent with the Delta Plan and the co-equal goals, and acting as the appellate body in the event of a claim that such a project is inconsistent with the goals; and
    * Determining the consistency of the Bay-Delta Conservation Plan (BDCP) with the co-equal goals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Article Comments