Turlock City News

Turlock City News

Assemblywoman Kristin Olsen Named ‘Legislator of the Year’ by Rural County Association

Assemblymember Kristin Olsen - 12th Assembly District

Assemblywoman Kristin Olsen (R-Modesto) has been selected by the Rural County Representatives of California (RCRC) as one of the two legislators to receive the annual ‘Patti Mattingly Award’ for 2012. The Patti Mattingly Award is given to policymakers who demonstrate successful leadership regarding rural issues and expresses a deep understanding of the challenges that rural communities encounter.

The Patti Mattingly Award was established in memory of former Supervisor Patti Mattingly of Siskiyou County who demonstrated tremendous courage, commitment and ability to advocate for constructive solutions surrounding rural issues. Each year, the RCRC Board of Directors selects the recipients for the award.

Assemblywoman Olsen was elected to the 25th Assembly District in 2010 which included the following rural counties: Calaveras, Madera, Mariposa, Mono, Stanislaus and Tuolumne. Olsen was re-elected in 2012, however, due to re-districting, Olsen would be representing portions of both San Joaquin and Stanislaus counties. Between these two counties, most of the district is geographically rural.

“Even though Ms. Olsen will no longer be representing several RCRC-member counties, we know her door will remain open and she’ll continue the work she began on behalf of counties both large and small,” stated Supervisor Kevin Cann of Mariposa, chair of the RCRC.

The RCRC highlighted the following actions of Assemblywoman Olsen during the 2011/12 Legislative Session:
1) Co-authoring legislative efforts to repeal fees imposed on those who reside in State Responsibility Areas
2) Authoring AB 890 which exempts from the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) the rehabilitation of existing roadways, provided the project is carried out by a city or county to improve public safety;
3) Authoring AB 1973 which related to protected species and the Ferguson Slide Permanent Restoration Project in Mariposa County;
4) Authoring AB 1592 that related to the waiving of municipal fees for disabled veterans.
Assemblywoman Fiona Ma (D-San Francisco) was also selected to receive the Patti Mattingly Award for her efforts on behalf of rural counties.

The RCRC, formerly known as the Regional Council of Rural Counties, is an association of 32 rural counties that advocates before the Legislature, Congress and state and federal government agencies on behalf of rural issues. County supervisors comprise RCRC’s governing board, whose headquarters are based in Sacramento, Calif.

Comments 1

  1. Father John says:

    I love Kristen Olsen. God Bless her too.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Article Comments