Turlock City News

Turlock City News

TUSD Board of Trustees Recognize Staff and Students With Character Counts Award


The Turlock Unified School District Board of Trustees held a special ceremony during their Tuesday meeting to honor 2012-2013 School Year Character Counts Award recipients.

The Character Counts awards are given out each year to exceptional students and staff who demonstrate outstanding character.

Character Counts is an integral part of the Choose Civility initiative of the Stanislaus County Office of Education, which seeks to build awareness of the importance of civility in school communities. The K-12 character development program is based on six pillars of character: Trustworthiness, Respect, Responsibility, Fairness, Caring, and Citizenship.

Each month, students and staff from schools within TUSD are chosen for best representing the month’s Character Counts theme.

“I am so proud that TUSD is part of the largest character education program in the nation,” said Sonny Da Marto, TUSD Superintendent. “As these traits integrate into our everyday lives, we have encountered many positive actions by our students and staff.”

The following individuals were recognized:

– Amir Aziz, Brown Elementary School
– Hailey Bruha, Crowell Elementary School
– Eduardo Marquez, Cunningham Elementary School
– Karissa Roof, Dutcher Middle School
– Zachery Bucheli, Earl Elementary School
– Dylan Birks, eCademy Charter at Crane School
– Emmaline Arrigotti, Julien Elementary School
– Simran Mann, Medeiros Elementary School
– Stephanie Ramirez, Osborn Two-Way Immersion Academy
– Brianna Pressman, Pitman High School
– Rebecca Kent, Roselawn High School
– Maria “Angie” Mendoza – Lopez, Turlock High School
– Anoosh Nersiss, Turlock Junior High School
– Dania Turkieh, Wakefield Elementary School
– Jada Washington, Walnut Elementary Education Center

– Tina Cantu, Brown Elementary School
– Lorena Olide, Crowell Elementary School
– Ana Orozco, Cunningham Elementary School
– Roger Sperry, Dutcher Middle School
– Kymn McGrath, Earl Elementary School
– Anthony Nunes, eCademy Charter at Crane School
– Rita Morgan, Julien Elementary School
– Diane Blood, Medeiros Elementary School
– Erica Maldonado-Higle, Osborn Two-Way Immersion Academy
– Don Grishaw, Pitman High School
– Ann Williams-Bailey, Roselawn High School
– Jill Ogden, Turlock High School
– Kevin Meyer, Turlock Junior High School
– Miguel Carbajal, Wakefield Elementary School
– Tracee Farlinger, Walnut Elementary Education Center
– Fabiana Moradkhani, District Office Business Services
– Dawn Nelson, District Office Fiscal Services
– Marilyn McMurphy, District Office Human Resources

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Article Comments