Last-Minute Candidates File for Turlock Races


Candidates for the Nov. 5 Consolidated District Election came out of the woodwork at the filing deadline.

Four contenders entered Turlock races in the last two days, making four previously unopposed candidates face the voters on Election Day.

Darrel Monroe, a retired irrigation worker who filed on Friday, will square off with incumbent Turlock Irrigation Director Ron Macedo for his Division 5 seat. Daniel Agundez, a retired electric supervisor who also filed on Friday, will face incumbent TID Division 3 Director Joe Alamo as well. Only incumbent Division 2 TID Director Charles Fernandes will retain his seat unopposed.

A similar fate befell the Turlock Unified School District elections, with Deborah Martin, a retired utility director, filing to run against incumbent Area 2 Trustee Tami Muniz on Thursday. Incumbent Bob Weaver will escape with his Area 4 Trusteeship unscathed, facing no opposition.

Joe Lewis, President of Turlock Youth Football, will face at least one challenger for the TUSD Area 6 seat – Jennifer Carter, a human resources director. As incumbent Josh Bernard did not file for reelection, the filing deadline for that race has been automatically extended to 5 p.m. Aug. 14, allowing more candidates to join the campaion.

A few other local contests have extended filing deadlines as well – the Chatom Unified School District, Denair Unified School District, Denair Municipal Service District, and Keyes Unified School District races.

For more information on running for office, or to sign up, call (209) 525-5230 or visit the County Clerk-Recorder's office at 1021 I St., Modesto.

Oct. 21 is the last day to register to vote in the Nov. 5 election. To register online, visit

Turlock Unified School District – Trustee Area 2
Tami Harrill-Muniz, Incumbent
Deborah Martin, Retired Utility Director

Turlock Unified School District – Trustee Area 4
Bob Weaver, Incumbent

Turlock Unified School District – Trustee Area 6 Extended
Joe Lewis, Community Volunteers
Jennifer Carter, Human Resources Director

Turlock Irrigation District – Division 2
Charles Fernandes, Incumbent

Turlock Irrigation District – Division 3
Joe Alamo, Agribusinessman
Daniel Agundez, Retired Electric Supervisor

Turlock Irrigation District – Division 5
Ron Macedo, Incumbent
Darrel Monroe, Retired Irrigation Worker

Chatom Unified School District (Three Seats) Extended
Rob Santos, Veterinarian
Rodney Machado, Educator
Anthony Avila, Incumbent

Denair Unified School District – Full Term (Two Seats) Extended
Sandi Dirkse, Business Owner/Farmer
Robert Hodges, Farmer
Travis “T.J.” Lake, Group Home Administrator
Troy Hirshkorn, Registered Nurse

Denair Unified School District – Short Term
Kathi Dunham-Filson, Educator
Joel Sanders, Maintenance Transportation Director

Denair Community Services District (Two Seats)
Ronald R. Richardson, Appointed Incumbent
Diedre Thomas, Incumbent
Don Smith Jr., Retired Water Operator

Denair Municipal Advisory Council (Three Seats) Extended
Mary Ann Riner, Incumbent

Keyes Union School District (Three Seats) Extended
Jeff Reed, Incumbent
Jimmy Emmons Sr., Incumbent
Audrey Mercer, Substitute Teacher

Keyes Community Services District (Three Seats)
William Alexander, Appointed Incumbent
Davie Landers, Incumbent
Eddie Jones, Retired Maintenance Supervisor
Johnathon Parker, Incumbent

Keyes Municipal Advisory Council (Two Seats)
Harinder Grewal, Incumbent

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Recent Forum Topics

Recent Forum Replies

  • Nick on Where to Get Apostille Services in Los Angeles? "Hello. Need to fly to Moldova but don't know how? This is not a problem . I recently flew there with a cool airline. I bought business class tickets at a very low price. I bought tickets here They have fast and safe service, which I really liked. I think I will always use it now."
  • paul on In what different materials do women’s activewear comes? "You may get a variety of fabrics for the best activewear for women online, including cotton, spandex, synthetic, bamboo fiber, and Gore-Tex. Each of these materials has distinctive properties that set them apart. Since polyester is incredibly light and comfortable to wear, we advise you to utilize it. Athletic clothing frequently uses polyester as a fabric. Shirts for activewear, sweatpants and jogging jackets usually contain polyester blends. Polyester often dries quickly, making it the perfect fabric for intense workouts."
  • PaulWatkins on How does a real estate agency work? "Hi Dans Andrew, I'm glad you have made the right decision because a real estate agency is a promising career. Real estate agency involves dealing with properties either for selling or purchasing. When a client comes to a real estate agency to sell a property, it is the estate agent's job to find a buyer. If the agent finds a buyer and closes the deal at a good price for both parties, the estate agent gets a 1% commission from both buyer and seller. This is how real estate agencies work, and estate agents earn."
  • dans on Where can we find the best kratom capsules? "Hi, sir, I don't know which state you live in because many states in the U.S. have prohibited the sale of the best kratom capsules, but you can still find them online. Many online pharmaceutical stores provide the best kratom capsules at affordable prices. You can look for such online stores on Google or even social media. The store will deliver the best kratom capsule to your home without charging the delivery charges."
  • dans on How to choose the right weight loss clinic? "A reputable weight loss clinic should preferably include counseling while being overseen by a doctor or other qualified medical expert. However, some weight-loss facilities allow clients to quickly obtain weight-loss medications and leave without providing a thorough medical history or seeking a physician's opinion. You should stay away from these types of locations because they're dangerous and probably won't result in long-term weight loss. Find a facility that focuses on the behavioral treatment or lifestyle counseling instead. They can provide you with the tools you need to make healthy decisions and advice on how to fit exercise into your daily schedule. Some of these tactics include keeping track of your meals and keeping a weekly workout log."
Skip to content