Beginning on Sept. 16, California motorists will have to adhere to a new law that is intended to increase safety for bicyclists across the state.
The “Three Feet for Safety Act” will require motorists to give bicyclists a minimum of three feet between any part of the motor vehicle and any part of the bicycle or its operator when passing the bicyclist.
If the motorist cannot safely pass the bicyclist due to traffic or road conditions, the motorist will be required by law to slow down to a “reasonable and prudent” speed and may only pass when it is safe for the bicyclist.
Any violation of this law, which comes into effect beginning on Sept. 16, is punishable by a $35 fine.
If a collision between a motorist and bicyclist occurs causing bodily harm to the bicyclist and the motorist is found in violation of the law, the fine would be increased to $220.
To read the entire law, visit the California Department of Motor Vehicles website.