Turlock City News

Turlock City News

Scholars Honored at CSU Stanislaus

Courtesy of CSU Stanislaus

A group of 43 California State University, Stanislaus students were honored as this year’s recipients of the Mary Stuart Rogers Scholarship during an on-campus luncheon Monday.

Rogers Scholars receive $3,000 for undergrad students and $3,500 students in teaching credential programs at CSU Stanislaus.

The scholarship is awarded to students who have demonstrated strong academic performance along with a commitment to personal growth and a desire to serve others.

Since being founded by the late Mary Stuart Rogers, the scholarship program has awarded more than $2.9 million to CSU Stanislaus students.

This year’s group of Rogers Scholars included 33 undergrads and 10 credential students. Many of these students have overcome tremendous adversity during their academic journey to excellence.

Michael Khoshaba, who grew up in war-torn Iraq and moved with his family to the United States at the age of 11, excelled in high school, graduating with a year’s worth of college credits, and he plans to go on to a career as a human resource specialist in the public sector.

Evelyn Miramontes, who survived major health issues and a fire that destroyed her family’s home, then graduated Magna Cum Laude with a liberal studies degree from CSU Stanislaus in 2013. Now pursuing her educational specialist and multiple subject teaching credentials concurrently, she hopes to become a special education teacher or a resource specialist working with at-risk students.

Qiaomin Mai, who grew up in China and, as a 6-year-old, cared for her baby brother while her parents were working. She went on to graduate from college in China, then moved to the U.S. in 2001 and is now nearing her bachelor’s degree in accounting at CSU Stanislaus.

2014 Rogers Scholars:

Haider Al-Kaabi, Ceres; Gerardo Alva Chavez, Coachella; Claudia Anguiano, Manteca; Rachel Barfield, Oakdale; Ashlee Bryant, Modesto; Bradley Bucknell, Modesto; Ashley Cole, Turlock; Pamela Cuneo, Sonora; Daniel De La Cruz, Stockton; Jennifer Egenberger, Modesto; Luis Garcia, Modesto; Shaun Gephart, Modesto; Lindsie Hartwick, Menifee; Lucia Jaime-Duran, Turlock; Keyomi Jones, Merced; James Kelleher, Turlock; Michael Khoshaba, Modesto; Jenny Lee, Merced; Venus Lopez, Modesto; Qiaomin Mai, Mountain House; James Moak, Modesto; Laura Palomera-Gomez, Modesto; Chris Robertson, Atwater; Mayra Rojas, Escalon; Brandi Ta’amai, Merced; Cristal Tadeo, Woodlake; Jeannie Tran, Stockton; Christine Valenti, Turlock; Cheng Vang, Stockton; Riana Von Gunten, Delhi; Spencer Voss, Denair; and Florinda Yurivilca, Modesto.

Recipients from the teaching credential program are:

Vanessa Brazil, Merced; Brandon Diniz, Atwater; Miriam Espinosa Orozco, Atwater; Bertha Garibay-Hernandez, Atwater; Ashli Hall, Modesto; Lisa Maldonado, Turlock; Bonnie McLafferty, Ceres; Evelyn Miramontes, Stockton; Ileana Treyes, Atwater; and Beth Wheeler, Tracy.

Recent Article Comments